Borderlands Media by
David E. Toohey's Borderlands Media: Cinema and Literature as Opposition to the Oppression of Immigrants is an in-depth analysis which explores the immigrant experience using a mixture of cinema, literary, and other artistic media spanning from 1958 onward. Toohey begins with Orson Welles's 1958 Touch of Evil, which triggered a wave of protest resulting in Chicana/o filmmakers acting out against the racism against immigrant and diaspora communities. The study then adds policy documents and social science scholarship to the mix, both to clarify and oppose undesirable elements in these forms of thought. Through extensive analysis and explication, Toohey uncovers a history of power ranging from lingual and visual to more widely recognized class and racial divisions. These divisions are analyzed both with an emphasis on how they oppress, but also how cinematic political thought can challenge them, with special attention to the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze. David E. Toohey's Borderlands Media is an essential text for scholars and students engaged in questions regarding the effect of media on the oppression of immigrants and diaspora communities.
Chicano! by
This is the companion volume to the critically acclaimed, four-part documentary series of the same title, which is now available on video from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.
Citizens but Not Americans by
An exploration of how race shapes Latino millennials' notions of national belonging Latino millennials constitute the second largest segment of the millennial population. By sheer numbers they will inevitably have a significant social, economic, and political impact on U.S. society. Beyond basic demographics, however, not much is known about how they make sense of themselves as Americans. In Citizens but Not Americans,Nilda Flores-González examines how Latino millennials understand race, experience race, and develop notions of belonging. Based on nearly one hundred interviews, Flores-González argues that though these young Latina/os are U.S. citizens by birth, they do not feel they are part of the "American project," and are forever at the margins looking in. The book provides an inside look at how characteristics such as ancestry, skin color, social class, gender, language and culture converge and shape these youths' feelings of belonging as they navigate everyday racialization. The voices of Latino millennials reveal their understanding of racialization along three dimensions--as an ethno-race, as a racial middle and as 'real' Americans. Using familiar tropes, these youths contest the othering that negates their Americanness while constructing notions of belonging that allow them to locate themselves as authentic members of the American national community. Challenging current thinking about race and national belonging, Citizens but Not Americans significantly contributes to our understanding of the Latino millennial generation and makes a powerful argument about the nature of race and belonging in the U.S.
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by
Mexican Americans, like many other Americans, have a long history of struggle for equality and civil rights. Yet only in recent decades has that history begun to be included as part of mainstream American history. Bringing together a wealth of information on the Mexican American struggle for civil rights, this authoritative encyclopedia provides factual up-to-date information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in that long fight. It includes such leading figures as Corky Gonzales, Héctor Pérez GarcÍa, Jovita Idar, and Alonso Perales, as well as many secondary leaders, and is rounded out with objective discussions of such topics as leadership, the movimiento, lynching, political exclusion, voting, and stereotyping. Appendices include a chronology and several basic documents critical to an understanding of the Mexican American Civil Rights struggle. The first comprehensive encyclopedia on this aspect of Mexican American history, the book fills a noticeable gap in the literature. It includes more than 300 entries, six appendices, sources of additional information, cross-referencing, and a detailed index that makes the history readily available. The book is a valuable resource for anyone interested in the Mexican American experience.
The Immigrant Experience by
An overview of immigration into this country that gives details of what groups arrived and in what sequence.
Immigrant Voices: New Lives in America by
John Harrower diary, 1773-1776 -- Hollingworth family letters, 1827-1830 -- William and Sophie Frank Seyffardt letters, 1851-1863 -- Rosa Cassettari : from Northern Italy to Chicago, 1884-1926 -- Rose Gollup : from Russia to the Lower East Side in the 1890s -- Childhood of Mary Paik, 1905-1917 -- Galarza family in the Mexican Revolution, 1910 : from Mexico to Sacramento -- Kazuko Itoi : a Nisei Daughter's story, 1925-1942 -- Piri Thomas, Puerto Rican or Negro? : growing up in East Harlem during World War II -- Nguyen family : from Vietnam to Chicago, 1975-1986.
Includes bibliographical references (p. [299]-312) and index.
International Perspectives on Educational Policy, Research and Practice by
Includes bibliographical references (pages 155-168) and index.
Issues in Immigration by
Discusses various issues regarding immigration, including assimilation, jobs, services, illegal immigration, and policy.
Occupied America by
The most comprehensive book on Mexican Americans describing their political ascendancy Authored by one of the most influential and highly-regarded voices of Chicano history and ethnic studies, Occupied America is the most definitive introduction to Chicano history. nbsp;This comprehensive overview of Chicano history is passionately written and extensively researched. nbsp;With a concise and engaged narrative, and timelines that give students a context for pivotal events in Chicano history, Occupied America illuminates the struggles and decisions that frame Chicano identity today.