Written by one of America's preeminent labor historians, this book is the definitive account of one of the most spectacular, captivating, complex and strangely neglected stories in Western history--the emergence of migratory farmworkers and the development of California agriculture. Street has systematically worked his way through a mountain of archival materials--more than 500 manuscript collections, scattered in 22 states, including Spain and Mexico--to follow the farmworker story from its beginnings on Spanish missions into the second decade of the twentieth century. The result is a comprehensive tour de force. Scene by scene, the epic narrative clarifies and breathes new life into a controversial and instructive saga long surrounded by myth, conjecture, and scholarly neglect. With its panoramic view spanning 144 years and moving from the US-Mexico border to Oregon, Beasts of the Field reveals diverse patterns of life and labor in the fields that varied among different crops, regions, time periods, and racial and ethic groups. Enormous in scope, packed with surprising twists and turns, and devastating in impact, this compelling, revelatory work of American social history will inform generations to come of the history of California and the nation.
In her incisive analysis of the shaping of California's agricultural work force, Devra Weber shows how the cultural background of Mexican and, later, Anglo-American workers, combined with the structure of capitalist cotton production and New Deal politics, forging a new form of labor relations. She pays particular attention to Mexican field workers and their organized struggles, including the famous strikes of 1933. Weber's perceptive examination of the relationships between economic structure, human agency, and the state, as well as her discussions of the crucial role of women in both Mexican and Anglo working-class life, make her book a valuable contribution to labor, agriculture, Chicano, Mexican, and California history.
Dolores Huerta led farm workers to demand better pay, reasonable hours, and respect on the job. She knew laws needed to be passed to protect the workers and improve their lives. Learn more about this influential activist and her fight for what was fair.
Immigrant Voices: New Lives in America by Thomas Dublin (Editor)John Harrower diary, 1773-1776 -- Hollingworth family letters, 1827-1830 -- William and Sophie Frank Seyffardt letters, 1851-1863 -- Rosa Cassettari : from Northern Italy to Chicago, 1884-1926 -- Rose Gollup : from Russia to the Lower East Side in the 1890s -- Childhood of Mary Paik, 1905-1917 -- Galarza family in the Mexican Revolution, 1910 : from Mexico to Sacramento -- Kazuko Itoi : a Nisei Daughter's story, 1925-1942 -- Piri Thomas, Puerto Rican or Negro? : growing up in East Harlem during World War II -- Nguyen family : from Vietnam to Chicago, 1975-1986.
Includes bibliographical references (p. -312) and index.
Immigration and Migration: Trends, Management and Challenges by Lucas Descoteaux (Editor)Immigration and Migration: Trends, Management and Challenges explores the governance of immigrant religious groups. More specifically, the opening paper uses Foucault's concept of governmentality as an analytical framework to frame a qualitative case study of Ghanaian and Somali immigrants in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.The authors go on to analyze gender differences in labor conditions and health, such as access to paid work and health services, disparities in salaries and work sectors and comparative morbidity patterns between male and female immigrants.Next, a mobile-assisted language learning framework (using a language application and a tablet) was developed to assist low-level English migrant women to acquire, expand and enrich their English vocabulary. This was achieved through a research project with 15 migrant women who were grouped into three case studies, where each experienced different learning environments.The final chapter describes the specific migratory phenomenon of children who migrate alone, making a comparison among European areas. Focus is placed on the Italian context (given that Italy is often the country where migrants first arrive) and the US context in order to understand the connection to the broader landscape of globalization.
European Immigrations by Marek Okólski (Editor); Marek Okólski (Editor)This volume of the latest research in European migration embraces a continent-wide outlook on migration processes and accounts particularly from Southern and Eastern European perspectives. This is accomplished by analyzing the long-term transition that countries undergo from net emigration to net immigration, as well as developments in their migrant inflows, integration, and policy. The mix of authors--representing several academic centers across Europe yet pursuing a common vision of European migration past, present, and future--utilize new empirical evidence, specially designed and collected.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman (Editor)Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.
Call Number: E185.E5453 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Atlas of the United States by Harm J. de BlijAn indispensable item in any modern professional or personal library, the Atlas of the United States offers a closer look at the oldest, richest, and most populous country on the continent. Opening with two pages of the latest statistics, this atlas provides a broad overview of a multiculturaland diverse nation taking its first steps into a new century. The heart of this comprehensive volume is a unique thematic section covering physical, historic, urban, economic, social, and cultural topics ranging from environmental change to religious practice, and indigenous peoples to migrationpatterns. Accompanied by a balanced combination of informative text and instructive charts and graphs, these newly drawn maps seek to explain the dynamic forces shaping the United States of America.The thematic section is followed by a spectacular two-page satellite image of the lower 48 states and several regional maps including a full page for the US Pacific islands plus dozens of larger-scale maps of urban areas. A useful, illustrated gazetteer offers still more precision with charts ofcensus data and descriptions of the history, geography, and industry of each state and its capital. In combination, these components transform the new Atlas of the United States into a home reference unsurpassed in quality that is equal parts study source and travel guide. All of this is facilitatedby a comprehensive index with latitude and longitude coordinates and alphanumeric grid references that make finding places effortless. What's more, page number indicators and refined locator windows throughout the atlas allow for easy identification of adjacent map pages.With hundreds of maps rendering every region from Barrow, Alaska to Venice, Florida in layer-colored contours, this atlas is the United States as it hasn't been seen before.
Call Number: G1105.A8 2005
Publication Date: 2006-05-11
The Making of Modern Immigration : An Encyclopedia of People and Ideas by Patrick J. Hayes (Editor)Combining the insight of two-dozen expert contributors to examine key figures, events, and policies over 200 years of U.S. immigration history, this work illuminates the foundations of the ethnic and socioeconomic makeup of our nation. The two-volume The Making of Modern Immigration: An Encyclopedia of People and Ideas is organized around a series of four dozen in-depth essays on specific aspects of American immigration history since the founding of the Republic. This encyclopedia addresses the major historical themes and contemporary research trends related to U.S. immigration, canvassing all the major policy endeavors on immigration in the last two centuries. In addition to documenting immigration policy, the contributors devote extensive attention to the historiography of immigration, supplementing theories with cutting-edge sociological data. Not content with providing a comprehensive overview of immigration history, however, the work also offers probing investigations of key figures behind the ideas that have shaped the nation's self-understanding. Taken as a whole, this seminal work lifts out the personalities and policies that surround the composition of America's national identity, illuminating the past as a series of lessons for the future. 45 entries covering such issues as the Alien and Sedition Acts, asylees, immigration and customs enforcement, immigration and religion, and U.S. Mexico border relations Contributions from an international collaborative of 24 scholars from the social and human sciences Photographs A timeline Entry-specific bibliographies and a lengthy general bibliography
Call Number: JV6450 .M363 2012 V.1 & V.2
Publication Date: 2012-02-13
Makers of America : by Encyclopaedia Britannica Educational Corp./Wayne Moquin10 Volume encyclopedic series:
v. 1. The firstcomers, 1536-1800.--v. 2. Builders of a new nation, 1801-1848.--v. 3. Seekers after freedom, 1849-1870.--v. 4. Seekers after wealth, 1871-1890.--v. 5. Natives and aliens, 1891-1903.--v. 6. The new immigrants, 1904-1913.--v. 7. Hyphenated Americans, 1914-1924.--v. 8. Children of the melting pot, 1925-1938.--v. 9. Refugees and victims, 1939-1954.--v. 10. Emergent minorities, 1955-1970. Bibliography: v. 10, p. 189-197.
Call Number: E184.A1 M65 V.1 - V.10
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
Identities and Issues in Literature by David R. Peck; Eric Howard811 entries in this comprehensive reference work link the variables of the Civil Rights movement, the women's movement, and the gay rights movement into a cohesive whole. The articles are arranged alphabetically and examine today's diverse cultures and their effect on, and how they are affected by, today's literature. This comprehensive collection examines such diverse cultures as African American, Asian, Caribbean, Jewish, Latino, Multiracial, Native American, Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual, and others. Over 300 articles are about women authors and their works. There are three types of entry: author, subject, and title. Mediagraphy. Bibliography. Category List. Index.
Call Number: PS 153 .M56 I34
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Statistical Handbook on U. S. Hispanics by Frank L. Schick (Editor); Renee Schick (Editor)Hispanic Americans make up the largest ethnic group in the country, and this volume accurately reflects their concerns, interests, and issues. By providing easy access to over 300 statistical charts, graphs, and tables, the book allows novice and professional researchers to easily locate statistics on: demographics, immigration, naturalization, social characteristics, education, health, politics, labor force, and economic conditions. The Statistical Handbook on U.S. Hispanics also includes a glossary of terms and a list of sources to be consulted for more information or additional statistical data. An extensive subject index makes it simple to locate specific tables and charts.
Call Number: E184.S75 S27
Publication Date: 1991-01-17
Suggested Books - More Literature
Luso-American Literature by Robert Henry Moser (Editor); Antonio Luciano de Andrade Tosta (Editor)Portuguese and Cape Verdean immigrants have had a significant presence in North America since the nineteenth century. Recently, Brazilians have also established vibrant communities in the U.S. This anthology brings together, for the first time in English, the writings of these diverse Portuguese-speaking, or "Luso-American" voices. Historically linked by language, colonial experience, and cultural influence, yet ethnically distinct, Luso-Americans have often been labeled an "invisible minority." This collection seeks to address this lacuna, with a broad mosaic of prose, poetry, essays, memoir, and other writings by more than fifty prominent literary figures--immigrants and their descendants, as well as exiles and sojourners. It is an unprecedented gathering of published, unpublished, forgotten, and translated writings by a transnational community that both defies the stereotypes of ethnic literature, and embodies the drama of the immigrant experience.
Pan-African American Literature by Stephanie LiThe twenty-first century is witnessing a dynamic broadening of how blackness signifies both in the U.S. and abroad. Literary writers of the new African diaspora are at the forefront of exploring these exciting approaches to what black subjectivity means. Pan-African American Literature is dedicated to charting the contours of literature by African born or identified authors centered around life in the United States. The texts examined here deliberately signify on the African American literary canon to encompass new experiences of immigration, assimilation and identification that challenge how blackness has been previously conceived. Though race often alienates and frustrates immigrants who are accustomed to living in all-black environments, Stephanie Li holds that it can also be a powerful form of community and political mobilization.
Call Number: EBook
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Literature of Immigration and Racial Formation by Linda Joyce BrownThis work examines early twentieth-century literature about women immigrants in order to reveal the differing ways that American racial categories and identities, particularly that of whiteness, were textually and socially constructed at the beginning of the twentieth century.
Call Number: EBook
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Suggested Books - Popular
The Dew Breaker by Edwidge DanticatIn this award-winning, bestselling work of fiction that moves between Haiti in the 1960s and New York in the present day, we meet an unusual man who is harboring a vital, dangerous secret. He is a quiet man, a good father and husband, a fixture in his Brooklyn neighborhood, a landlord and barber with a terrifying scar across his face. As the book unfolds, we enter the lives of those around him, and his secret is slowly revealed. Edwidge Danticat's brilliant exploration of the "dew breaker" -- or torturer -- is an unforgettable story of love, remorse, and hope; of personal and political rebellions; and of the compromises we make to move beyond the most intimate brushes with history. It firmly establishes her as one of America's most essential writers.
Call Number: PS3554.A5815 D49
Publication Date: 2005-03-08
House of Sand and Fog by Andre DubusThe National Book Award finalist, Oprah Book Club pick, #1 New York Times bestseller and basis for the Oscar-nominated motion picture. A former colonel in the Iranian Air Force yearns to restore his family's dignity. A recovering alcoholic and addict down on her luck struggles to hold on to the one thing she has left. And her lover, a married cop, is driven to extremes to win her love. In this masterpiece of American realism and Shakespearean consequence, Andre Dubus III's unforgettable characters--people with ordinary flaws, looking for a small piece of ground to stand on--careen toward inevitable conflict, their tragedy painting a shockingly true picture of the country we live in today.
Call Number: PS3554.U265 H68
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Little Bee by Chris CleaveMillions of people have read, discussed, debated, cried, and cheered with Little Bee. Have you? "Little Bee will blow you away." --The Washington Post The lives of a sixteen-year-old Nigerian orphan and a well-off British woman collide in this page-turning #1 New York Times bestseller, book club favorite, and "affecting story of human triumph" (The New York Times Book Review) from Chris Cleave, author of Gold and Everyone Brave Is Forgiven. We don't want to tell you too much about this book. It is a truly special story and we don't want to spoil it. Nevertheless, you need to know something, so we will just say this: It is extremely funny, but the African beach scene is horrific. The story starts there, but the book doesn't. And it's what happens afterward that is most important. Once you have read it, you'll want to tell everyone about it. When you do, please don't tell them what happens either. The magic is in how it unfolds.
Call Number: PR6103.L43 L58
Publication Date: 2010-02-16
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen...The Sympathizer is a sweeping epic of love and betrayal. The narrator, a communist double agent, is a "man of two minds," a half-French, half-Vietnamese army captain who arranges to come to America after the Fall of Saigon, and while building a new life with other Vietnamese refugees in Los Angeles is secretly reporting back to his communist superiors in Vietnam. The Sympathizer is a blistering exploration of identity and America, a gripping espionage novel, and a powerful story of love and friendship.
Call Number: PS3614.G97 S96 2015
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
The House on Mango Street by Sandra CisnerosThe greatly admired and bestselling book about a young girl growing up in the Latino section of Chicago. Sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes deeply joyous, this novel depicts a new American landscape through its multiple characters.
Call Number: PS3553.I78 H6
Publication Date: 1991-04-03
American Street by Ibi ZoboiA National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards! American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie -- a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream? A New York Times Notable Book, Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner), School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, Kirkus Best Book of the Year, BookPage Best YA Book of the Year
Call Number: PZ7.1.Z64 Am
Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Suggested Boooks - Children
Mama's Nightingale by Edwidge Danticat; Leslie Staub (Illustrator)A touching tale of parent-child separation and immigration, from a National Book Award finalist. After Saya's mother is sent to an immigration detention center, Saya finds comfort in listening to her mother's warm greeting on their answering machine. To ease the distance between them while she's in jail, Mama begins sending Saya bedtime stories inspired by Haitian folklore on cassette tape. Moved by her mother's tales and her father's attempts to reunite their family, Saya writes a story of her own-one that just might bring her mother home for good. With stirring illustrations, this tender tale shows the human side of immigration and imprisonment-and shows how every child has the power to make a difference.
Call Number: Children's PZ7.D2385 MAM
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhhà LaiInside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee--fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama--this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. For all the ten years of her life, Hà has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, and the warmth of her friends close by. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, Hà discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food . . . and the strength of her very own family. This moving story of one girl's year of change, dreams, grief, and healing received four starred reviews, including one from Kirkus which proclaimed it "enlightening, poignant, and unexpectedly funny." An author's note explains how and why Thanhha Lai translated her personal experiences into Hà's story.
Call Number: PZ7.5.L35 IN
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
Lucky Broken Girl by Ruth BeharWinner of the 2018 Pura Belpre Award! "A book for anyone mending from childhood wounds."--Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative--based on the author's childhood in the 1960s--a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed. Ruthie's plight will intrigue readers, and her powerful story of strength and resilience, full of color, light, and poignancy, will stay with them for a long time. Ruthie Mizrahi and her family recently emigrated from Castro's Cuba to New York City. Just when she's finally beginning to gain confidence in her mastery of English--and enjoying her reign as her neighborhood's hopscotch queen--a horrific car accident leaves her in a body cast and confined her to her bed for a long recovery. As Ruthie's world shrinks because of her inability to move, her powers of observation and her heart grow larger and she comes to understand how fragile life is, how vulnerable we all are as human beings, and how friends, neighbors, and the power of the arts can sweeten even the worst of times.
Call Number: Children's PZ7.1.B447 LUC
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
Buenas Noches, Luna by Margaret Wise Brown; Clement Hurd (Illustrator)This high-quality Spanish-language book can be enjoyed by fluent Spanish speakers as well as those learning the language, whether at home or in a classroom. En este cuento clásico de la literatura infantil, adorado por generaciones de niños, la poesía que encierra su texto y la ternura de sus bellas ilustraciones convierten a éste en un libro ideal para culminar el día. En una gran habitación verde, arropado en su cama, está un conejito. Buenas noches, habitación. Buenas noches, Luna -- dice el conejito. Y así sucesivamente, le da las buenas noches a todas las cosas que reconoce en su cuarto: al cuadro de los tres ositos sentaditos en sus sillas, a los relojes y a los calcetines, a los gatitos juguetones y a los lindos mitones.