With acknowledgement and our appreciation for this "Web subject directory" from our sister RCCD college library - the Wilfred J. Airey Library at Norco College - and our adjunct librarian colleague, Ms. Sally Ellis.
Adherents.com - over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations - references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.
America Votes (Ref JK1967 .A8) <only in the MLK Library, Riverside Campus>
AmeriStat - U.S. population issues, trends, & statistics, in graphics & text - Selected topics include Marriage & Family, Population Estimates & Projections, Education, Race & Ethnicity, Income & Poverty, Migration, Foreign-Born Population, Children, Older Population, Political Arithmetic, Fertility, Labor Force & Employment, & Mortality. Sources are cited & links to other Web sites provided
Bureau of Transportation Statistics - Affiliated with the U.S. Department of Transportation, this site furnishes statistics on many aspects of transportation, including airline, international, state and local, and commodity flow.
Business Rankings Annual (Ref HG4050 .B88) <at all 3 campus libraries>
Business Statistics of the United States (Ref HC101 .A13122) <at all 3 campus libraries>
Census 2000 Briefs - first analysis of Census 2000 population and housing topics - Includes: Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin; Population Change and Distribution: 1990-2000; The Hispanic Population; The White Population: 2000; The Black Population: 2000; Congressional Apportionment; Households and Families: 2000;Gender: 2000
CensusScope - provides census data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas. Represented by charts, maps, and rankings, the data includes information such as multiracial and population growth, population by race, age structure, and family structure. The site is easily navigable, the charts and maps are concise and comprehensive, and the rankings are easy to follow. On the whole, an excellent resource site
ChildStats.gov - statistical reports on the status of U.S. children & their families
State of the Cities Data System - provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, & Suburbs
Uncle Sam's Reference Shelf: County and City Data Book - contains official population and housing data from the 2000 Census plus business and other data for all US counties, cities with 25,000 or more inhabitants, and places of 2,500 or more inhabitants. Information includes percent population change by state; counties with populations of one million or more; top 40 cities by population; state, county, and city area and population; population by age, race, and sex; relevant maps, and much more. The PDF files include easy-to-read tables and graphs making the information an easily-accessible source of the country's latest geographic data.
County and City Data Book (Ref HA202 .A36) <at all 3 campus libraries>
Crime in the United States 2000 - The FBI's report on United States' crime levels. Data in the report are compiled from approximately 17,000 law enforcement agencies as part of the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program. The report, which contains detailed tables and charts throughout, is available in seven sections in .pdf format only. Sections include a summary, crime index offenses reported and cleared, persons arrested, an analysis of motor vehicle theft, and a section on law enforcement personnel.
Datapedia of the United States (Ref HA202 .K87) <Norco & Moreno Valley Campus Libraries, only> - Datapedia of the United States presents the most significant historical statistics of the United States in 23 selected areas from 1776 to 1990. In some areas, such as demography, where projections are possible, the data are extended to 2010
Digest of Education Statistics, 2001 - This report provides "a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from pre-kindergarten through graduate school." Topics covered by the Digest include information on the number of US schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, as well as information on educational attainment, finances, Federal funds for education, employment and income of graduates, libraries, technology, and international comparisons.
Educational Rankings Annual (Ref LB2331.63 .E34) <at all 3 campus libraries> - Provides a collection of rankings and lists on education, compiled from educational and general interest published sources.
Facts on File (Ref D410 .F3) <at all 3 campus libraries>
FEDSTATS The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by over 70 governmental agencies for public use. Statistics include the latest social and economic indicators, the Statistical Abstract of the United States, and regional statistics. This site may be searched by keyword, agency, or program.
Food Surveys (Food & Nutrition Information Center) - information & statistics about American eating habits & their consequences
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics (Ref HD8051 .A63) <at all 3 campus libraries>
U.S. Census Bureau Housing Topics - American Housing Survey for 1997 data on the nation's housing, including apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, & vacant housing units. Data are shown for household characteristics, income, housing & neighborhood quality, housing costs, equipment & fuels, size of housing unit, & recent movers. Historical Tables shows trends since the first housing census in 1940. There is also data on home ownership, affordability, market absorption of apartments, & New York City specifically. Some documents require Adobe Acrobat Reader
InfoNation - Provides up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations. Includes geographic and social indicators as well as demographic and economic.
Information Plus (Ref HN59.2 .I53) <at all 3 campus libraries>
International Data Base (IDB) - An excellent, interactive, searchable database of international demographics and socioeconomic statistics on 227 countries and dependencies. IDB is a product of the US Census Bureau's International Programs Center.
International Labor Statistics - provides international comparisons of hourly compensation costs; productivity & unit labor costs; labor force, employment & unemployment rates; & consumer prices
International Marketing Data and Statistics (Ref HA42 .I56) <at all 3 campus libraries>
Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey - Data from a monthly household survey providing "a comprehensive body of information on the employment and unemployment experience of the nation's population, classified by age, sex, race, and a variety of other characteristics." Includes how the government measures unemployment; definitions of labor force concepts; usual weekly earnings of wage and salary workers; employment situation of Vietnam-era veterans; college enrollment and work activity of high school graduates; summer employment and unemployment among youth; union members; worker displacement; workers on flexible and shift schedules; and national and local unemployment statistics. From the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
POPClocks - watch the ever growing population with Website counters that display the statistics for the USA and the world.
Population Reference Bureau A non-profit organization dedicated to providing timely, objective information on U.S. and international population trends.
Religion Statistics - Statistics covering membership in "over 4,000 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc." Indexes of religion by country and by name; statistics on largest communities of religions by countries and states of the U. S.; religious affiliations of U. S. presidents and current members of Congress.
U.S. Economy at a Glance - Recent monthly economic data for the United States and each of the 50 states. Data also available for regional and metropolitan areas. Entries include unemployment rate, average hourly earnings, consumer & producer prices indexes, etc.
USA Statistics in Brief - USA Statistics in Brief is a supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States and presents national summary data and state population estimates in categories ranging from population to energy to foreign commerce.
Voting & Registration Data - statistics from the Current Population Survey on U.S. voting & voter registration by various demographic & socioeconomic characteristics
Xist.org - Global statistics - The site is divided into several parts. There are parts dealing with the regions of the world & the countries belonging to that region. Then there is a more global part with statistics on every country of the world. There is also a part with rankings. The most, largest, longest, wealthiest, etc.