Skip to main content

Libraries, Websites, and More!: D-G

With acknowledgement and our appreciation for this "Web subject directory" from our sister RCCD college library - the Wilfred J. Airey Library at Norco College - and our adjunct librarian colleague, Ms. Sally Ellis.

  Dictionaries and Thesauri

English Language:

Collections of Dictionaries:

English/Non-English Dictionaries:

Miscellaneous/Specialized:

Thesauri:

Directories

E-Books

  • Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts - documents from American & English literature and Western philosophy
  • Bartleby Project - Great books online
  • Bibliomania - Classic works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, & even a few reference titles
  • Great Literature Online - works of 36 authors, with more texts added weekly. Has biographical information about the authors & links to related sites
  • Internet Sacred Text Archive - sacred texts, poetry and myths of the world's religions can be viewed -- not just the major ones, but also those of the ancient near east, native Americans, neopaganism, the tarot, Greek, Roman and Norse mythology, Baha'i, Nostradamus, and more. Another useful feature is the hyperlinked timeline of sacred texts
  • The Online Books Page
  • Online Texts Collection - Comprehensive listing to online texts--No longer being added to 
  • Project Gutenburg - over 50,000 public domain books
  • Short Stories - library of short stories with monthly features & additions

Bible 

Ecology & Environmental Science

Education: Schools and Universities

  • 101 Top College, University and Scholarship Pages
  • American Association of Community Colleges (AACC)
  • ASSIST - Articulation System Stimulating Interinstitutional Student Transfer - displays reports of how course credits earned at one California college or university can be applied when transferred to another
  • Braintrack University Index - Addresses of Universities, Polytechnics, Colleges & other higher educational institutions all over the world
  • California College Explorer - information about higher education opportunities in California
  • Guide to CALIFORNIA Colleges and Univerisities
  • Careers & Colleges.com
  • College Opportunities On-Line - direct link to over 9,000 colleges & universities in the United States
  • College Profiles - provides brief sketches of thousands of colleges and universities, along with materials on the cost of each school, financial aid opportunities, and campus life
  • College Rankings from US News & World Report  
  • EMBARK - find a US community college, technical program, four-year college or university, or graduate school that is right for you
  • International Center for Distance Learning
  • Peterson's Education Center (college information)
  • Studyabroad.com - Study Abroad Programs Directory
  • World Wide Learn - courses, classes, tutorials, workshops & degree programs offered exclusively online & available to adult learners worldwide

Education: K-12

Encyclopedias

Financial Aid and Scholarships

Geography

  • Atlapedia Online - physical & political maps on countries of the world as well as key facts, figures & statistical data  
  • The Eastern Waterfall Guide - info. on more than 175 waterfalls in 20 states
  • Geography & Maps: Library of Congress - 60,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, numerous globes & plastic relief models & more!
  • GeographyIQ - an online world atlas packed with geographic, economic, political, historical & cultural information. In addition, GeographyIQ brings together a number of other resources including maps, flags, currency conversion as well as climate and time zone information.
  • How Far Is It? - data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world, is used to find the latitude & longitude of two places, & then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map showing the two places, using the Xerox PARC Map Server.
  • JHU/APL Color Landform Atlas of the US
  • Perry-Castañeda Library - Map Collection
  • The Microsoft Terraserver
  • National Geographic
  • VisibleEarth - NASA's searchable directory of images, visualizations, & animations of the Earth
  • World Atlas: Maps & Geography of the World

Geology & Earth Science