Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Award Winning Children's Literature: Newbery

This guide will help you navigate, locate, and research topics in children's literature through RCC resources.

Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting of the Children's Librarians' Section and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery.

The John Newbery Award

Newbery Winning Books (1922-1952)

Newbery Winning Books (1953-1983)

Newbery Winning Books (1984-present)