Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ServSafe Coursebook by
Call Number: RCC Reserve (Circ Desk) -- CUL 36 RIV PERM 1
Publication Date: 2012
Textbooks are located in the Reserve Section behind the circulation desk on the 2nd floor of the library. Students need to provide call numbers and present their student ID cards to check-out textbooks which circulate for 2 hours and may not be taken out of the Library.
Professional Baking by
Call Number: RCC Reserve (Circ Desk) -- CUL 20 RIV PERM 1
Publication Date: 2012
The Flavor Bible by
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX651 P34 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Professional Cooking (8th ed.) by
Call Number: COMING SOON
Publication Date: 2014
The Professional Chef by
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX820 P738 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Named one of the five favorite culinary books of this decade by Food Arts magazine, The Professional Chef is the classic kitchen reference that many of America's top chefs have used to understand basic skills and standards for quality as well as develop a sense of how cooking works. Now, the ninth edition features an all-new, user-friendly design that guides readers through each cooking technique, starting with a basic formula, outlining the method at-a-glance, offering expert tips, covering each method with beautiful step-by-step photography, and finishing with recipes that use the basic techniques. The new edition also offers a global perspective and includes essential information on nutrition, food and kitchen safety, equipment, and product identification. Basic recipe formulas illustrate fundamental techniques and guide chefs clearly through every step, from mise en place to finished dishes. Includes an entirely new chapter on plated desserts and new coverage of topics that range from sous vide cooking to barbecuing to seasonality Highlights quick reference pages for each major cooking technique or preparation, guiding you with at-a-glance information answering basic questions and giving new insights with expert tips Features nearly 900 recipes and more than 800 gorgeous full-color photographs Covering the full range of modern techniques and classic and contemporary recipes, The Professional Chef, Ninth Edition is the essential reference for every serious cook
SEARCHING FOR BOOKS & MEDIA
You can search for books and videos by using the library's online catalog.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
The following resources are available online to RCC students 24/7 via the internet. If connecting from off-campus, you will need to login with your student ID and password.
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice. Provides information across all age groups from infants to the elderly.
The fill-in-blank templates available in this source will allow you to create a "References" page in MLA or APA format.
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX911.3.S3 S47 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The following are just a few of the videos available for viewing in the library. They can be requested at the circulation desk on the second floor of the library.