RCC Research Guides: Women's History: Women's History Resources

American Memory Collections at the Library of Congress

Looking for women's history materials online? A wide array of digitized primary sources highlighting aspects of American women's lives—including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, maps, photographs, moving images, and sound recordings—are accessible through the American Memory Historical Collections at the website of the Library of Congress.

Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Resources from Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries
WWW Virtual Library Women's History
From the International Institute of Social History. Links to institutions and collections, resources for women's history, journals, women's history organizations, discussion lists, general history resources, women's studies.

American Association of University Women
Advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education and research.
Center for American Women and Politics
The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is a leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. Its mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about women's participation in politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life. Includes state-by-state and national information.
National Organization for Women
The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States.
National Women's Studies Association
Established in 1977, NWSA is a professional organization dedicated to leading the field of women's studies and gender studies, as well as its teaching, learning, research, and service wherever they be found.

American History Online
Offers primary source documents, biographies on historical figures, and images.

National Women's History Month
Women's history resources available through National Women's History Project

Primary Documents
An on-line archival collection of primary documents from the Special Collections Library, Duke University. This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.