RCC Research Guides: Student Parent Resources: Parent Friendly Library Services

Library Services

Study Room Reservations
Our study rooms are able to be reserved in advance now. Your children are welcome to be in the room with you. Room limits are 7 people.
Research Help Appointments
We know your time runs tight. Feel free to chat with a librarian and make an appointment for a future time that works for you.

Our Serenity Lounge on the 3rd floor of the library building has super comfy recliners. Imagine a nap, just you, by yourself, in almost complete silence.
The lactation pod is also located on the 3rd floor of the building, right next to the Serenity Lounge. We recognize that nursing a baby is HARD WORK and takes dedication. Let our lactation pod give you the privacy you need to feed your baby or pump.
Vending machines and microwaves are available on the 2nd floor of the library building, near the lounge. Grab a snack between classes or on your way to work.
Free printing is available in the computer area of the library, behind the Information Desk.

Parent Friendly Magazines

Primary Search
Includes full text for the most popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
Carefully Curated Content for Elementary School Libraries
Primary Search includes ongoing full text for the most popular children's magazines including those from Cricket Media, such as:

Ask
Click
Cobblestone
Cricket
Faces
Ladybug
Muse
Spider
Fun for Kidz
Girls' Life
Highlights
Ranger Rick*
Ranger Rick, Jr.*
Scout Life
Sports Illustrated Kids*
Stone Soup
TIME for Kids*
Zoobooks*
*Active full text is unique to EBSCO.

Reference Books
Additional content in Primary Search includes The Encyclopedia of Animals, American Heritage Children's Dictionary and reference e-books from top children's publishers including:

Abdo Publishing Company
Cherry Lake Publishing
Crabtree Publishing
Cricket Media
Lerner Publishing Group
Sleeping Bear Press

Let Us Help!

If you prefer not to make an appointment or chat with a librarian, remember that the library buys and licenses:

books
eBooks
digitized books
scholarly/academic articles
newspapers
magazines
streaming video

All are available to you for searching from our library homepage. We also have Research Guides already created that may help with your particular assignment topics (racism, kinesiology, life sciences, criminal justice, mythology, nutrition, etc.). In an effort to save you time, the research guides will list out the specific databases and books that might best suit your paper assignment.