RCC Research Guides: Hispanic Heritage/Latinx Month: Articles & Primary Sources

Search Terms for Hispanic/Latinx Research

Hispanic Americans
Mexican Americans
Latino
Latin America
Caribbean
Central America
Names of countries (Mexico, Cuba, Nicaragua)
Names of events (Alamo, Spanish-American War)
Names of people (Cesar Chavez, Frida Kahlo)
Names of explorers (Magellan, Vaspucci)
Names of early cultures (Aztec, Mayan)

"5 Facts about Hispanic for Hispanics Heritage Month" From Pew Research
"15 Hispanic Heritage Month Facts" From Women's Health Magazine- "These facts about National Hispanic Heritage Month will not only deepen your knowledge of this celebration, but enrich your life overall."
"15 Influential Hispanic Americans Who Made History" From Biography.com, "We're celebrating 15 of the most notable Hispanic Americans whose influence has touched everything from pop culture to politics."
"22 Best Movies Celebrating Latinx and Hispanic Culture to watch in 2021" From Women's Health Magazine
"24 Famous Hispanic Americans who Made History" List from Readers Digest
"Afro-Latino: A Deeply Rooted Identity among U.S. Hispanics" From Pew Research
"Discover Hispanic Heritage at these Historic Sites" Interior and its bureaus preserve and interpret historic sites across the country. For Americans whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America, these places connect them to our nation’s shared history. From early explorers to modern day leaders, Hispanic Americans have influenced America’s culture and played an important role in society.
"Hispanic Americans in the U.S. Navy" Selected Biographies, digital resources, and readings from the U.S. Navy History
Hispanic Heritage Month (History.com) From History.com- "Hispanic Heritage Month is an annual celebration of the history and culture of the U.S. Latinx and Hispanic communities. The event, which spans from September 15 to October 15, commemorates how those communities have influenced and contributed to American society at large."
"Hispanics" National Institute of Health: Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
Hispanics in the U.S. Army Timeline of the history of Hispanics in the U.S. Army
"Key Facts about U.S. Latinos for National Hispanic Heritage Month" Pew Research Center- data and statistics about Latinos for National Hispanic Heritage Month
"National Hispanic Heritage Month: Sept. 15-Oct. 15, 2021" From the United States Census Bureau- "The timing is key. Hispanic Heritage Month — like its shorter precursor — always starts on September 15, a historically significant day that marks the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. The designated period is also a nod to those from Mexico and Chile, which celebrate their independence on Sept. 16 and Sept. 18, respectively."
"Spotlighting on Statistics" From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
"Top 8 Reasons Why and How We Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month" From the Smithsonian- "Starting in July, Smithsonian educators receive phone calls and emails inquiring about resources that will help showcase these communities and their contributions to American society. So this year, we decided to answer those burning questions about why and how we should celebrate this month. And we decided to do it, in a top 8 listicle, because learning should be fun!"

If you are looking for primary sources based in Texas, click on "Texas" tab to find resources

Digital Public Library of America: Hispanics
From libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions across the U.S.
Hispanic/Latino Heritage
From National Archives
Hispanic Americans in Congress
From the House of Representatives
Latina(o) Cultural Heritage Archives
From California State University (CSU) Northridge, Oviatt Library
The PALABRA Archive
The PALABRA Archive at the Library of Congress dates back to 1943. Historically known as the Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape (AHLOT), this collection contains nearly eight-hundred recordings of poets and prose writers participating in sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory and at other locations around Spain and Latin America.

Article Database Research

The databases @RCC Library will connect you to countless sources of credible, trustworthy information at no cost. The sources you find using library databases are perfect for research purposes. You can browse the entire list of databases from the Databases A-Z list.

America: History and Life with Full Text Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes hundreds of full-text history journals, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Diversity Studies OneFile Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from a variety of ethnic and minority presses. Covers content from 1990 to the present. Funding provided by Student Equity.
U.S. History in Context Provides access to articles and primary source documents on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in United States history.
American Indian History Online Provides information on over 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of culture and history. Funding provided by Student Equity.
World History in Context Explore the depths of history from the ancient world to today’s headlines. Chronicles the people, cultures, events, and societies that formed the history of the human race.

Hispanic Heritage/Latinx Month

Journals

Attribtution

Search Terms for Hispanic/Latinx Research

Some Articles of Interest

Article Database Research