RCC Research Guides: US History Primary Sources: 19th Century (1800 -- 1899)

Internet Sites With Primary Sources on 19th Century America

19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies
19th Century Documents Project
19th Century Schoolbooks
19th Century Trade Card
Aaron Burr Trial (1807)
Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition
Alexander Graham Bell Papers at the Library of Congress, 1862-1939
America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Potraits and Views, 1839-1864
America and the Utopian Dream
America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
America in Caricature: 1765-1865
American Founder's Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920
American Time Capsule: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
Anne Sullivan Macy: Miracle Worker
Anti-Saloon League, 1893-1933
Archive of Early American Images
Around the World in the 1890s: Photographs from the World's Transportation Commission, 1894-1896
Big Streets in a Little City - Downtown Street Scenes in Kiel (Wisconsin), 1860-1980
Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1955
Capital and the Bay: Narratives of Washington and the Chesapeake Bay Region, ca. 1600-1925
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
Chicago Anarchists on Trial: Evidence from the Haymarket Affair, 1886-1887
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1880-1910)
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection
Cornell University Collection of Political Americana
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
Dakin Fire Insurance Maps (Hawaii 1891-1906)
Delia Locke Diaries
Detroit Photographic Company's Views of North America, ca. 1897-1924
Diary of Clarence C. Childs, Fremont, Ohio, 16th Ohio National Guard, Spanish American War
Document Exhibits: State of Delaware
Do History: Martha Ballard's Diary
Dolley Madison Digital Edition
Drawings by Tichkematse
Dying Speches and Bloody Murders: Crime Broadsides Collected by the Harvard Law School Library
Earliest Voices: A Gallery from the Vincent Voice Library
Early Virginia Religious Petitions
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
A database of over 9,000 advertising items and publications (1850 - 1920), illustrating the rise of consumer culture, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry.
Emma Goldman Papers
Emma Spaulding Bryant Letters
Erie Canal Time Machine
Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
Feeding America: The Historical American Cookbook Project
First Person Narratives of the American South
First Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920 (Library of Congress)
Florida Historical Legal Documents
Foreign Relations of the United States (Univ. Wisconsin)
For Our Mutual Benefit: The Athens Woman's Club and Social Reform, 1890-1920
From Revolution To Reconstruction: Documents
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Grant-Burr Family Papers
Guide to the Mexican War
Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
Harriet Jacobs: Selected Writings and Correspondence
Haymarket Affair
Haymarket Riot Trial (1886) (State of Illinois v. Albert Spies, et al.)
Helen Keller
History of the American West 1860-1920: Photographs from the Collection of the Denver Public Library
Home Economics Archive
I Do Solemly Swear...: Presidential Inaugurations
Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains: Online Image Database
Inventing Entertainment: The Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies
James Madison Papers
John Bull & Uncle Sam: Four Centuries of British-American Relations
John Muir Papers
Kate and Sue McBeth: Missionary Teachers to the Nez Perce
Lakota Winter Counts
Las Vegas and Water in the West
Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery
Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
Life Photo Archive
Making of a Homemaker
Making of America (Cornell University)
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Mexican American War
Miller NAWSA Suffrage Scrapbooks, 1897-1911
Missouri Mormon War
Mountain Meadows Massacre Trials (1875-1876) (John D. Lee Trials)
New Jersey Women's History
New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
Nineteenth Century in Print: Books
Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals
North American Slave Narratives
Northern Great Plains, 1880-1920: Photographs from the Fred Hultstrand and F.A. Pazandak Photograph Collections
Northern New York Historical Newspapers
Not For Ourselves Alone: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony
OK Corral Trial (The Triap of Wyatt Earp) (1881)
Panoramic Photographs: Take the Long View, 1851-1991
Papers of Jefferson Davis
Papers of John Jay
Papers of Thomas Jefferson: Retirement Series: Family Letters (1809-1873)
Perry Visits Japan: A Visual History
Philadelphia Riots (1844)
Pioneering the Upper Midwest: Books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, ca. 1820-1910
Playing House: Homemaking for Children
Prairie Settlement: Nebraska Photographs and Family Letters, 1862-1912
Race & Place: An African-American Community in the Jim Crow South: Charlottesville, VA
Race and Slavery Petitions Project
Randolph Linsly Simpson African American Collection
Reclaiming the Everglades: South Florida's Natural History, 1884-1934
Road to Indiana Statehood
Runaway Slave Ads Baltimore, Maryland 1842-1863
Samuel F. B. Morse Papers at the Library of Congress, 1793-1919
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Small Town America: Stereoscopic Views from the Robert Dennis Collection, 1850-1920
Song of the Vine: A History of Wine
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. and U.K., 1815-1914
Sunday School Books: Shaping the Values of Youth in Nineteenth-Century America
Temperance and Prohibition
Temperance and Reform in the Early 19th Century
Temple of Liberty: Building the Capitol for a New Nation
Tennessee Documentary History 1796-1850
Thomas Edison Papers
Touring Turn-of-the-Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company 1880-1920
Trails to Utah and the Pacific: Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869
Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo
The Trial of Charles Guiteau: Excerpts from the Trial Transcript
Trial of Lizzie Borden (1893)
Trial of Susan B. Anthony (1873)
Walter McClintock Glass Lantern Slides (Blackfoot Tribe)
Western Trails
Westward by Sea: A Maritime Perspective on American Expansion, 1820-1890
Wisconsin Historical Images
Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Words and Deeds in American History
World of 1898: The Spanish-American War