RCC Research Guides: Native American Information &amp; Resources: Curriculum

Facts About Native Americans in Higher Education

#CiteEdDevBIPoC Compiled by Jamellia Jones, #CiteEdDevBIPoC is an effort to highlight the accomplishments of Educational Developers (those who work in Centers for Teaching and Learning, or those who help and transform colleagues’ and universities’ teaching and learning practices) who identify as Black, Indigenous, and/or People of Color.
Everyday Words and Phrases That Have Racist Connotations
Factsheet: Native American Students in Higher Education A report from Post-secondary National Policy Institute (PNPI).
How to Hold a Better Class Discussion Advice Guide
Jay Howard, Chronicle of Higher Education - May 2019
Indigenous Perspectives on Native Student Challenges in Higher Education A part of the series Beyond the Margins: Meeting the Needs of Under-served Students, found at this link, https://www.higheredtoday.org/meeting-needs-underserved-students/
more...less...
About the Author, Robin Zape-tah-hol-ah Minthorn. The author is a citizen of the Kiowa tribe of Oklahoma and a descendant of the Umatilla/Nez Perce/Apache and Assiniboine Nations. She is an associate professor at the University of Washington in Tacoma and the director of the educational leadership doctoral program. Her research interests include Indigenous leadership, Indigenous based doctoral experiences, the impact Native American sororities and Indigenous motherhood in the academy.
Want to Reach All of Your Students? Here’s How to Make Your Teaching More Inclusive Advice Guide
Viji Sathy & Kelly A. Hogan, Chronicle of Higher Education - July 2019

One of the ways faculty can foster an anti-racist culture is to broaden the resources we use in our lessons and our assignments. By using materials created by those who are historically silenced and underrepresented, we help to "de-center whiteness."

Ask yourself: "Are the videos and readings I give my students narrated by, written by, or told from the perspective of a native, black, Asian, or Latinx American?" "Do my students see themselves in their readings?" Below are some RCC databases with resources for you to consider when choosing readings and assignments.

Native Voices in Primary Documents

Databases Available @RCCLibrary

African-American History Online Covers 500 years of African American history and culture by major era. Provides biographies, images, primary sources, timelines, and news related to each topic. Funding provided by Student Equity.
African-American Newspapers Original news articles covering life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment, and more. Funding provided by Student Equity.
American Indian History Online Provides information on over 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of culture and history. Funding provided by Student Equity.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (primary sources)

Ethnic NewsWatch Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from a variety of ethnic and minority presses. Covers content from 1990 to the present. Funding provided by Student Equity.
Humanities International Complete Covering all aspects of the humanities, searches over 700 full text journals, books, and other resources from around the world.